Memories One Cup at a Time

It’s amazing to me how a simple accident can bring back so many wonderful memories.  This morning my husband was making my son and I tea and he accidentally started to add milk to my tea instead of our son’s.  Nobiggee, I’ll still drink it.  He brought it to me, all milky brown and steaming and as soon as I saw it I thought of my Grandma Queenie.  With the first sip I was taken back to my elementary school days and coming home from school to hot (lukewarm) tea and cream puffs my grandma had made for me and all my friends.  Each day would be a repeat of the same except the baked item would change.  One day it’s cream puffs, the next apple strudel, then a pie of some sort and I think you get the idea.  She made going to school, our “job”, seem worth all the effort in exchange for our tea parties.  We each had our favorite tea-cup.  Dawn and I would drink out of small matching ones covered in violets with our pinkies extended out.  The cups themselves couldn’t have been any bigger than a Dixie cup but they were just perfect for our little hands.  As we aged we moved up to normal sized tea cups with their matching saucer.  I always chose the one with beautiful trees that were covered in pink blossoms.  Just looking at it made me happy.

Tea Time

Tea Time

Having those afterschool tea parties made me happy, and my friends happy, and I believe made my grandma happy as well.  We were her brood to look after; Dawn, Suzy, Michelle and I.  The four musketeers and my grandma as our queen.  She came and went in our lives living with us one year and back to her own home the next but when she was living with us the tea parties would resume and I’d add a friend here and there so that the group was always expanding.  When we were old enough and she moved back to her home permanently then my friends and I would talk our parents into driving us up for the weekend to stay with her and as we progressed into getting our own drivers licenses you would find a group of us heading up to Clearlake and her house almost every weekend during the summer.  And again you’d find us sitting around her kitchen table, picking out our favorite tea cups from her china hutch and drinking tea late into the evening, having a hen party as she liked to call it and munching on her delectable creations.

Leave a Reply

