Moto Boy

Getting all geared up for his first ride.

Getting all geared up for his first ride.

My 5-year old son has begun to ride with Daddy on his motorcycle and I am so not ready for it. We bought him a really cool looking DOT helmet and a special harness that attaches him to Daddy and has handles so that he can feel secure and yet I’m still terrified. I’ve let him ride around the neighborhood for a couple of days now and he absolutely loves it, so much so that the first words out of his mouth each morning is “motorcycle”. I know this is a losing battle for me as all the Monson men ride and my husband is counting down the days until Joey will join their family tradition and have a motorcycle of his own. But still he is only 5 and my baby and as I said I am terrified. All the what-if’s keep running through my mind: What if someone hits them, what if the motorcycle goes down, what if he wants his own motorcycle in a year or two… I am so not ready for any of those things should they happen. Having said that though I want to support his passions and the dreams my husband holds so dear. Sometimes it is so hard to be a mother and to let go of my own fears so that my son can accomplish what his heart desires. Sometimes it is so hard to be a wife when I’m not aligned with my husbands goals.

Today I allowed them to go out of the neighborhood, just down the street mind you, but still there will be stop lights to contend with and other drivers clogging the roadways. I let them go though, off to Starbucks for coffee and hot cocoa and now I sit here waiting on pins and needles for their safe return. While I’m scared silly of the possibilities I know they are having the time of their lives, bonding, and just being boys.

Exhilarated after their first ride together.

Exhilarated after their first ride together.

Leave a Reply

