To America from a Teacher

To America from a Teacher.

This post really made me sit up and take notice. I have wonderful friends who have chosen to dedicate their lives to the teaching field and for all their efforts they get very little satisfaction as their hands are tied by political manueverings, restrictions on how and when they can communicate with their students, the money available to bring life to their lesson plans… and the list goes on. Each of them sacrifice time for themselves, for their families, just so that they can give their students the best learning, not to mention life, experiences out there. For each and every one of them I give my profound thanks and only wish I had a magic wand that I could wave to bestow on them salaries equal to if not greater than our athletes and actors, funds for rounding out their students learning experiences to go back in time to include art, music, and culture once again along with the reading, writing, and arithmatic.

I have been so blessed to have awesome teachers my whole life. From kindergarten to some college and technical school I can honestly say that I’ve maybe had one bad teacher in the whole mix. 40 years later I still have fond memories of some of them, the gifts they bestowed on me like a love of reading, travel, curiosity of world events and that’s just barely scratching the surface.

So today, my blog salutes all those wonderful teachers who enrich our lives by loving and teaching our kids so well and at so many different levels.

Leave a Reply

