The best things aren’t things, but moments

I came across this quote by Eckhart Tolle and it just resonated with me.

“Those who have not found their true wealth, which is the radiant joy of Being and the deep, unshakable peace that comes with it, are beggars, even if they have great material wealth. They are looking outside for scraps of pleasure or fulfillment, for validation, security, or love, while they have a treasure within that not only includes all those things but is infinitely greater than anything the world can offer.” …

I find as I age this is more and more true for me.  When I was in my 20’s I felt like I had to compete at work, at home, with my friends regardless of the cost.  I might have had material wealth with the best vehicle, the hippest clothes, etc. but inside where it counted I was empty.  Now in my 40’s, dealing with my FM, I’ve come to realize that none of those things really matter.  Health matters.  Family matters.  Moments matter.  And with this realization comes the reward because I know in my heart that I am so blessed.  I have the love of my family.  The joy of raising one energetic, bright, lovely little boy.  The ability to settle into quite time and take in the beauty of nature around me.  The simplest things bring me pleasure – like my first cup of tea in the morning, cuddling with my son after he crawls into bed with me each morning, carefree car rides with just my hubby where we get to hold hands and talk (and the ironic part is that most of these rides take place on the way to and from errands).  Yes I am rich in all the ways that matter.
When I was diagnosed with FM back in 2001 I thought my life was over and in a way it was because I could no longer do things as I had – usually at a fast pace.  FM forced me to slow down with turned out to be a gift in its own way.  I now can’t do those long hikes into the woods but I can park close to the forest and walk a ways in and as I do I have the time to really notice the dew on the grass, the evolution of colors as Fall rolls in, the quiet that can only be had when you get out of civilization.  I can’t ride 8 or 10 miles on my bike but I can tool around the neighborhood with Joey, seeing our community through his eyes, noticing dogs along the way or birds, which houses have kids out front, and who can go fasted down the straight stretches.  Let’s be honest, he usually beats me but there is joy in that too because it makes him so happy.  I can’t have a perfectly tidy house but hey I hate housework so I don’t mind giving up on that ideal as a result of my FM.  I guess what I’m saying is it’s all in your perspective.  I’d rather give up all the material things in exchange for those moments with the ones I love the most, my family and my friends – to me that is what makes me rich in life.
2 thoughts on “The best things aren’t things, but moments

  1. Thanks Trisha. I find that I have to try to focus on the positives otherwise my limitations due to the FM can really bring me down. And it really is the little moments that seem to make me smile the most.

Leave a Reply

