Friends are the Chosen Family

I am so fortunate to have the wonderful friends that I have and the best part is that they feel more like family than friends.  Since I’ve been off my game with this danged sprained ankle or whatever it is my friends have blessed me with unconditional help.  Jessica has been driving Joey to school for me, and even took me out for a spin yesterday just to get me out of the house for a while and JoAnna has been picking him up for me each afternoon.  Without their help we’d have been in big trouble.  Either Larry would have had to take some unpaid leave from work or we’d have had to call in help from Grammi and Pop Pop and I’d hate for them to have to drive into town just to run him to and from school, especially with them having so much on their plate already with trying to get their house in order to put it on the market.

Plus his teachers have been so nice.  Yesterday while I was waiting in the car for Jessica while she signed Joey into school his teacher, Miss Pat, came out to the car to ask how I was doing and to let me know that they were praying for my speedy recovery.  Plus she offered to get the parent brigade going if we needed for some meals – I thanked her but told her it wasn’t necessary since Larry has really taken hold of the reigns at home, cooking and cleaning and just taking really good care of me.  Between all of them I’ve really been able to rest and recuperate and that is the greatest gift of all.

I feel really lucky that this fall didn’t send me into a FM flare-up.  Usually when something like this happens, or I get a cold or flu, it usually triggers one and then I’m not only dealing with the injury but more chronic pain than usual.  As you can imagine this takes a toll on everyone.  Already Joey has been out of sorts since I fell, it seems like when I’m down he’s hit hardest, followed shortly by Larry.  This time around Mom has also been a champ, not putting pressure on me to take her here and there or being to picky about her meals.  That too has been a blessing.

I always question why these things happen to me, I mean don’t I already have enough on my plate to deal with with the Fibromyalgia and the Depression not to mention the migraines and eye issues from my Psuedo Tumor Cerebri, so why do I have to twist my ankle, or fall, or get cold after cold but then I think on the flip side look at the love and support I have, the friends to lift me up and make me laugh, the family that shows me unconditional love, and my hubby and son who always seem to know when I need a hug or a cuddle.  I think the love that they all give me in so many ways lightens my pain and makes my heart feel full with it.  I really am one lucky, lucky lady.

Leave a Reply

