Hot Diggity Dog

The other day Joey and I had a whole date day.  We played Wii in the morning, then headed out to the movie theatre to see Alvin and the Chipmunks in Chipwrecked, had a treat at Cold Stone Creamery and ended the day at a playdate at my friend Sam’s house. It was a great day – no fuss, no muss, no tantrums but do you know my favorite part of the day?  Don’t even try as you’ll never guess.  It was three simple little words – Hot Diggity Dog.  Yep that’s it.

I don’t know why I said it originally but I did and Joey plucked those three words out of the air and claimed them as his own all the way home.  He sang it, he said it quickly and then slowly and then he asked me to repeat what he was saying (weird words, made up words like “Rah Rah Rosie”) and when I did he would yell out “Hot Diggity Dog!” and then laugh and say he tricked me.   It was a real laugh from deep in his belly and it was contagious.  Once we’d both calm down he would do it all over again.  He got so much joy out of those three simple words and I in turn got so much joy out of his joy.

Our ride home lasted about 40 minutes and the whole journey was fun.  That was two days ago and since then he’s not once said those three magical words that gave us so much joy and laughter.  I wonder why and then think to myself it doesn’t really matter as it was fun in the moment and the next time we’re having a not so great day I’m going to yell out “HOT DIGGITY DOG!” and see if that magic can take hold of us again and fill our bellies with laughter.

One thought on “Hot Diggity Dog

Leave a Reply

