Dating My Sister

Yep, my sister and I are pursing a relationship and we began yesterday with a date.  Just a casual affair, me calling her in the morning to see if she was available to accompany me to see the movie “We Bought A Zoo”.  She said yes and our adventure was off to a good start.  I felt giddy.  I can’t even recall the last time she and I did anything together, just the two of us.  Oh sure we get together as an entire family for holidays and family dinners occasionally but we never and I mean NEVER seem to get together just the two of us to hang out, have fun, really talk.

She picked me up at 11:00 at my friend Jessica’s since my brakes aren’t working right and I was afraid to drive it any farther than her house.  We headed up the hill to Regal Cinemas in El Dorado Hills.  We got there a smidge early so we did a little shopping in the local CVS, picking up pistachios and peanut M & M’s that we were going to smuggle into the movie theatre in our purses, and of course soda pop too.  At 12:15 we got our tickets, went tinkle, and then headed in to find our seats.  The movie we’d chosen was pretty well attended so we actually ended up in the handicap seats at mid-level which was fine with me as that meant I wouldn’t have to go up and down stairs when I had to go tinkle again and I knew I would as I never can seem to make it through a two-hour movie without at least one potty run.  We watched the previews, agreeing on the fact that we wanted to see the majority of them and that most of them our husbands would deem chick flicks and wouldn’t want to go with either one of us.  Perfect… that just means those will all be opportunities for me to spend even more time with my big sis.

After the movies we headed over to one of Crystal’s favorite restaurants, Dominic’s, for lunch.  They make the best italian food – pizza, Calzones, Stromboli’s, and rolls (their version of a sandwich).  I chose two different slices of pizza to try and Crystal ordered the meatball roll.  The portions here are huge, and I mean really really big when I say huge so you can imagine that we both walked out of there with doggy bags.  My pizza was pure perfections.  Thin crust, crispy on the bottom and light and delicate on the surface.  They make their own dough and breads, cheese, and sausages – all from scratch, and it shows.  I can definitely see myself going back there.

After lunch we ran some food home to Jeff and then headed to Pep Boys to get the brake pads I needed for Larry to fix my car.  My brakes sound like it’s metal on metal, but I’m hoping to get by with just changing out the pads, at least for the time being.  Crystal dropped me back off at my truck, offering to follow me home.  She didn’t even want me to drive my truck home they were making such a noise.  I told her I’d be fine and would call if I had any problems.  I got home just fine as it were and Larry got my brakes done by the light of the moon and a spotlight to see his way.

It was a really nice day and I so enjoyed my time with my sister.  It make me remember that she really is this amazing person, warm and funny, and a little sentimental.  I’m looking forward to many more dates with her.

Leave a Reply

