45’s A Real Pleasure

I was thinking today, as I dyed my hair (not because I’m old or gray or anything but because I didn’t like the results of my last hair appointment) that so far my 40’s are the best time of my life.  I’ve learned to accept things as they come, am more open to other’s ideas and feelings, and take time to really notice all the wonderful blessings that I have surrounding me – namely my boy Joey and Larry.  Both give me so much love and laughter that I wonder how I ever got along in life without them in it.

Don’t get me wrong, not everything is perfect in my world.  I’m overweight, live with pain on a daily basis, and have a low-level of energy but even with all that, I still feel like one of the luckiest women in the world.  Another mom, Healther, that’s in one of my mom’s groups and who lives in Alaska summed it up beautifully.  This is how she describes living in her 40’s.

“But one of the really great things about being over 40 is that I just don’t care as much about what my body looks like. What’s important is what it can do. I have strong arms to hug a friend in need, broad shoulders perfect for crying on, sturdy legs to walk the floor with a scared child, gentle ears that can listen to a friend cheer about her day or cry about her life, loving eyes that see the beauty in others, a stomach that can brave the latest cooking experiment to come my way. So what if I’m no longer perky and taut? God made me for more than what I look like and I’m beginning to appreciate that.
Along with acceptance of myself, I’ve developed much more acceptance of others. The value of years of experience is that you can see why people are coming to the conclusions they are, you can warn them of the foolishness of their ways, but you’re also wise enough to know when to keep your mouth shut.
Being over 40 means really understanding and appreciating what beauty is all about. It’s not what you look like, it’s who you are and who others believe they can become because of being around you. ”

So to all of you 20 and 30 somethings I say no need to dread the big 40 because it’s one of the best gifts you’ll ever give to yourself.

Leave a Reply

