Books, Books, and more Books

I love reading.  For those of you who don’t know that about me, then you don’t really know me at all.  I began my love affair with books at a very young age, as in single digit age.  If you couldn’t find me when I was in elementary school it was probably because I was curled up with a good book in some out-of-the-way place; my bedroom, the fort we built out of pine needles in the back year, or hidden amongst the branches of the big palm’s that used to sit out in front of our house on Greenbrier Street.

The first book I can ever remember owning was Ali Baba and the Forty Thieves.  My grandma Hill gave it to me and I read it from cover to cover, over and over again, until the spine no longer wanted to hold the pages together.  Since then I’ve owned many more books, filled bookcase after bookcase with all my favorite reads, and in the last decade decided it was a waste to have so many sitting on shelves and in boxes when I could be passing them along for someone else’s reading pleasures.  Which is exactly what I’ve done, passed them to family members and friends, donated to my local library, dropped them off at hospitals for the pleasure of the patients or their loved ones.  I would highly recommend this to anyone who has a surplus of books and loves reading as much as I do – pass that love on.

For Christmas this year my brother-in-law Eric was the individual who drew my names for gifts.  Who knew I was going to get so lucky.  Not only did he give me the most beautiful single serving teapot and cup from Japan but not one, not two, but a handful of books which all but one were new to me.  Several of these books were the Millenium series by Lars Stieg (most recently brought to everyone’s attention when his novel was made into the movie The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo).  I’d wanted to see the movie and read the book but had no idea it was part of a series.  Over the past week I read them all in order,  “The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo”, “The Girl Who Played With Fire” and “The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets’ Nest”.  What a phenomenal series of stories, rich in characters and plots.  I literally couldn’t put them down.  This fact Joey loved because the more involved I got with my stories the more time he was allowed to pursue his Wii passions.  That’s also one of the big bonuses when you’re in the middle of a Fibromyalgia flare up too, loss of sleep due to pain equals tons of time to read and get out of your own body and mind and into someone elses.

If you’ve not read these then you definitely need to – check them out from the library, borrow them from a friend, but definitely take the time to read them as they are just that good.  As for mine, I’ve already passed the trio along to a friend and her hubby to read and I’m sure they’re going to get as much pleasure from them as I did.  The only unpleasurable thing about this series is that it’s incomplete.  When I finished the third book I went researching to see if there would be more – I felt there was a lot left to be learned about these characters, how they’d come to be, where they were heading, what mystery would be up next to be solved.  To my utter disappointment I learned that Lars had passed away in 2004, that the Millenium series was originally planned to include 10 books and that he had written the beginning and end of the fourth book, but hadn’t got to the meat of it in the middle.  This is such a loss since he had created characters that were rich with personality and so many layers, most of which hadn’t even been exposed but in the lightest details.

There is talk that his lifelong partner, Eva Gabriellson, who is herself a writer could finish at least the fourth book of the series since she’d been through the whole writing process with him but she has opposition to this idea in the form of Lars brother and father.  That’s too bad as I know if I’d been the writer I’d want my ideas brought to their final conclusion.

So here’s to the pleasure of writing and reading and books in general, to finding new authors only to lose them right after you’ve fallen in love with them, to absorbing someone elses view of the world.

Leave a Reply

