We’ve got GERMIES

Joey and I have been sick since Friday – he’s got strep throat for sure and some very swollen tonsils.  As for me, I have a bit of a sore throat but it’s not all that bad and tons of aches and pains going through my body – I feel a bit like I’ve been run over by a truck.  What I find so amazing is that although Joey is really sick he hasn’t lost any of his energy and in fact seems more wired than ever.  We’ve both been on antibiotics since Saturday morning and so we’re no longer contagious but even so, I kept him home with me since Friday and he has definitely got cabin fever.  So today I let him break free of his time stuck at home and he and Larry have gone off to a Halloween party with our Rancho Cordova Cradles to Crayons group.  My friend JoAnna is hosting and she to has the germies as I imagine a lot of the other kids and momma’s do.  Let’s face it, it’s just that time of year and so we’re bound to catch some of the germs that are going around.

While I hate being sick it has brought some special simple pleasures into our lives.  For example to combat Joey’s boredom he and Daddy have been playing Wii games together – Lego Batman that Aunt Mary got him for his birthday and MarioKart that Crystal got him (along with the Wii) for his birthday.  I personally can’t figure out the Batman one and it makes me frustrated and then in turn I frustrate Joey because I keep getting our characters killed off.  On the other hand I love MarioKart.  It has so many different scenarios to race in and you can be one of a dozen or more characters and you get to pick your ride which I love.  I didn’t think I’d like having a Wii, and we are limiting Joey’s time on it as we want him to pursue other play activities as well, but I have to admit it’s a lot of fun and I’m really enjoying playing it with Joe.

We also broke out my craft supplies yesterday and did some stamping on fabric bags that I had on hand and then we also decorated some foam butterflies with puffy paint and glitter glue.  I’m hoping to make a mobile of our fine creative butterflies.  I love crafting with Joey and I love it even more when Larry does it with us.  He gets so into it and is as proud as Joey of the work he creates.  Joey loves doing crafts of any kind, though he goes through them at the speed of light – globbing on glitter glue and adding additional glitter to really make it sparkle.  That’s one of the things I love about his preschool, they literally do a craft each day that he’s there.

Anyway, I’m grateful for the sick times as it makes us slow down and not try to fit a gazillion things into our schedule.  It lets us bond even more as a family and do creative things together to pass the time.  I guess you could say there is a silver lining to being sick after all.

One thought on “We’ve got GERMIES

  1. Digging your message here, Malana. About the simple things being the most rewarding. Thanks for the reminder invitiation. Really timely. Love, Mary

Leave a Reply

