Hobbies, what are those?

I was updating my profile on the mom’s group that I run and I realized that when it asked me what my hobbies are this was how I had to answer.

“This is so shocking, but other than reading, I don’t really have any hobbies any longer. I’m going to have to work on changing that. I used to love writing, photography, camping, cooking, etc. but it all seems to have gone by the wayside as my energy level has gone down and my parenting duties/activities keep increasing. Guess I just set my 2012 New Years resolution 🙂 ”

How sad is that? I think it’s very sad. I have all these great ideas that I want to try running around in my mind but never seem to take action on them, or make time for them. I want to try my hand at throwing pottery again and I don’t mean dishes at Larry either, and painting just for the fun of it. It’s been forever since I took any photo’s of abstract stuff just for fits and giggles. My girlfriend Cheryl and I used to take one day road trips for the sole purpose of snapping pictures and it has to have been at least 5 years or more since the last time we did something like that.

Don’t get me wrong, I do do many crafty things each week, BUT they are with Joey and so they are always things suited to his age level. I enjoy them, but I just want something for me – does that make me selfish? I don’t think so, not really deep down where I know we all need these kinds of things to nourish our souls and make us better parents, partners, friends and yet a part of me must think it’s selfish and that I’m not worthy of taking time out just for me.

So as I said in my response on my profile I’m going to make changing that status my resolution for 2012. Stay tuned to find out what fun things I get into and what adventures they lead me on.

Leave a Reply

