Joey’s 1st Day of Preschool

Oh my gosh, where has the time gone?  Today is Joey’s first day at The Learning Cottage Preschool out here and I’m not sure if it was harder on him when I left or harder on me having to walk away.  He didn’t want me to go and started to get choked up but held it together and watched me go with a wave.  I on the other hand-made it back out to my truck and burst into tears.  I know it’s the right thing for him, and that he’s going to make some good friends and learn a lot of wonderful things, but still it’s just happening to fast.  I thought I’d have more time with him, that these past four years would have lasted so much longer, and now my baby is growing into a little man.

When I look back on his baby pictures, how tiny he was, to taking his first steps, running and falling for the first time, pedaling his bike all the way to the park and calling Larry and I Daddy and Momma for the first time these all seem like indelible marks in my mind so I don’t know why this milestone is hitting me so much harder.

Man it’s tough aging, and having my little one age right along with me.  I guess I need to focus on the positives – how this will prepare him to be away from me, give him the tools to succeed and to find new adventures to explore, the chance to make some new friends and to become excited about the prospect of learning.  I guess when I look at it that way I find there are way more positives to offset my broken heart.

So congratulations my boy on your very first day in preschool.  Momma and Daddy love you and are so proud of you.

Leave a Reply

