Happily Ever After

It’s so hard to believe that Larry and I just celebrated our 4th wedding anniversary.  It seems like just yesterday we were two strangers, walking our dogs, engaging each other in general conversation and making plans for our first date… on New Year’s Eve no less.  No pressure there.

We hit it off right away, started going out for coffee and tea or just taking rides on his motorcycle.  Next thing you know we’ve got Joey being formed in my belly, moving into a house out in Rancho Murieta, and taking our vows in front of the county clerk at the courthouse.  It’s been an interesting ride so far and I can’t wait to see where it takes us.

We started a tradition right off when we started celebrating and that was no gifts of any kind.  Doesn’t sound like such a great idea, right?  Who doesn’t like to get presents, I know I do.  But instead we’ve given each other something even better – heartfelt letters.  We outline our favorite things from the previous year, what we love about each other, sometimes what we need to improve on.  It really means a lot to both of us.  We always go out to dinner and exchange letters after we’ve eaten and then tell each other what our wish is for the coming year – this year we both want to create more family time, more adventures be they day long trips or a week or more.  And more date nights for Larry and I.  Of course we say that one each year and each year it always seems to be the one thing that gets set aside.  This past year I think we managed to get in three whole dates.  In the coming year I’m hoping to at least quadruple that.  I guess only time will tell.

Here’s a photo of Larry and I from our very first “official” date.  We went out to dinner and a movie, and then headed down to Old Sac to watch them ring in the year with fireworks.  I think it was one of the best dates I ever had, though it might have been the best just because of who I was sharing it with.

There were fireworks in the air and in our hearts

Leave a Reply

